Web-site is in update mode

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia


The European Parliament has voted EU visa liberalization for Georgia

02.02.2017, Brussels - the European Parliament voted on 2 February 2017 to grant Georgian citizens visa-free travel with the EU.Visa liberalization for Georgia was approved with 553 votes in favor and 66 against. Legislative proposal to amend Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 transferring Georgia to the list of visa-free countries was also adopted. The Georgian delegation led by the Speaker of the Parliament of Georgia, Irakli Kobakhidze attended the plenary session of the European Parliament. We attach paramount importance to the support of the European Parliament’s political groups to Georgia – support, which has been further proved by today’s voting.We welcome the fact that the European Parliament has approved of the reforms undertaken by Georgia and the progress made on this path. We appreciate the European Parliament’s confidence and support for the Georgian Government, which will give renewed impetus to further reforms towards the ultimate goal of European integration. Today’s decision of the European Parliament is a further proof that cooperation and partnership with the European Union will bring concrete benefit to each citizen of Georgia. It provides a clear example of how the European Union complies with its commitments towards its partners and how it responds to the efforts of various countries to establish EU standards and build democratic institutions. Visa-free travel with the EU will be equally important for Georgian citizens living in the occupied territories as it will allow them to enjoy all benefits of free movement within the EU space, as well as of close relations with Europe. Once the amended Regulation is voted on, it will be approved by the EU Council and the process of visa liberalization for Georgia will be thus finalized. Upon signature of the legislative amendments by the President of the European Parliament and a representative of the country holding the EU presidency, the Regulation will be published in the official journal of the EU.Visa-free travel will be granted to Georgia upon entry into force of the amended suspension mechanism regulation. This will enable Georgian citizens holding biometric passports to travel visa-free to the EU/Schengen countries (for 90 days within any 180-day period). The amended suspension mechanism provides for the possibility of responding immediately to substantial increases in the flow of migrants from third countries and to related threats and risks. It is therefore important for each citizen of Georgia to take into consideration all negative consequences that any violation of visa-free travel rules may bring about. We are confident that citizens of Georgia will responsibly approach their duties under the visa-free regime and will fully comply with the applicable requirements and the laws of the host counties.


Powitalne Słowo Ambasadora

Ambassador's biography


        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

დიასპორის სტრატეგია



საქართველო საერთაშორისო რეიტინგებში



Copyright © 2005-2009 Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia. All rights reserved.
Created by ITDC